Thursday, April 09, 2015

Hugo Gernsback

H is for Hugo. This award is the premier award in science Fiction named after Hugo Gernsback, founder of the first ever sci-fi pulp magazine, Amazing Stories. In 1953 "World SF Convention" gave the first Hugo Award at the 11th World Science Fiction Convention. Since 1955 the Hugo Award for best Science Fiction and Fantasy has been handed over to winners annually for pure excellence.

Theres more than a dozen types including best written and dramatic work. The Hugo Awards are among the highest honors bestowed in science fiction and fantasy, art, publishing and writing. The distinctive design of the Hugo Award Rocket is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society. The awards themselves are voted on and administered by the World Science Fiction Convention, also known as Worldcon.

Star Trek: The Original Series was nominated eight times for Best Dramatic Presentation, and swept the nominees in 1968. It won the award twice.

Star Trek: The Next Generation was nominated three times, and also won twice.

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine and Star Trek: Enterprise were each nominated twice (Enterprise for Short Form, after the category was split in 2002), but never won.

Nine of the first eleven Star Trek films except for Star Trek V: The Final Frontier and Star Trek Nemesis were nominated for Best Dramatic Presentation. None won the award.

Gene Roddenberry won a special award for Star Trek in 1968.

Hugo Gernsback is known for writing a non fiction in 1952 titled "Evolution of Modern Science Fiction." The novel for which he is best remembered is "Ralph 124C 41+"

Have you read Amazing Stories? Do you like watching the Hugos? Who do you want to see win?


Jeremy Hawkins said...

always found Amazing Stories very trippy, people and their writings that inspired a generation of others to explore strange new worlds, seek out new life... well you get it...

Jeremy [Retro]
AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2015]

There's no earthly way of knowing.
Which direction we are going!

Come Visit: You know you want to know if me or Hollywood... is Nuts?

Spacerguy said...

I sure do Jeremy. We're boldly exploring worlds beyond our imagining.

Alex J. Cavanaugh said...

DS9 never won? That was the one most deserving of a win.

Bish Denham said...

I have never seen the Hugos but would love too. I agree with Alex, I think DS9 deserved an award.

Jeffrey Scott said...

Never seen the award show. Might be worth checking out. Also, I agree with the two above, shocked DS9 (the best Trek IMO) never won.

Tony Laplume said...

As far as this year's awards go, I would most like to see Interstellar and Saga walk away with wins.

Elephant's Child said...

Lots of the books I have loved over the years have won Hugos and I never knew anything about the award - thank you.

Birgit said...

I always wondered about the Hugo Award and where it all began so thanks for talking about it. I think Star Trek should have won more. I did watch Amazing Stories when it was on briefly

Beth Ellyn Summer said...

ooh never saw this award show...sounds awesome though!

Susan Kane said...

My husband and son are the total science/fiction guys, and their libraries show it.

Some of STmovies we have seen so often that we talk along with the dialogue. DS9 was a regular here.

I miss Data.

Anonymous said...

I've heard of Hugo Gernsback before, and of course I've heard of the Hugo Awards, but I never realized there was a connection there before.

Star Trek ©, Star Trek-The Next Generation ©, Star Trek-Deep Space Nine ©, Star Trek-Voyager ©, Star Trek-Enterprise ©, and all associated marks and characters are registered trademarks of Paramount Pictures and or CBS Studios Inc registered in the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Star Trek Sci Fi Blog by Spacerguy © 2006 - 2017 May not be reproduced without permission. All rights reserved. All other trademarks and copyrights are the property of their respective holders. Privacy Policy